Jian dui [煎堆] – Sesame ball

Today I want to introduce a delicious asian food: Jian Dui or (Zin1 Deoi1 in Cantonese), aka Sesame balls.
Besides in China and Honkong, I know Jian Dui is also a common food in Vietnam
According to wikipedia it’s even common in Japan, Malaysia, Indonesia and the Philippines.
Wow, didn’t know that Jian Dui was this international!

Since the description in Wikipedia is quite okay, let me copy and paste it XD:

Jian dui is a type of fried Chinese pastry made from glutinous rice flour. The pastry is coated with sesame seeds on the outside and is crisp and chewy. Inside the pastry is a large hollow, caused by the expansion of the dough. The hollow of the pastry is filled with a filling usually consisting of lotus paste (蓮蓉), or alternatively sweet black bean paste (hei dousha, 黑豆沙), or less commonly red bean paste (hong dousha, 紅豆沙).

My mum likes to use golden mung bean paste for the filling.
If you ever get the chance to eat Jian Dui, I recommend you to give it a try ^^
So, finally here’s a photo of selfmade Jian Dui (unfortunately in LQ, and no photo of the filling ;P)

Jian Dui
P.S As always, please excuse my bad English…

Ein Kommentar zu “Jian dui [煎堆] – Sesame ball

  1. it s so strange people call it Jiandui. We call it 麻团(má tuán) in mandarin. it s one of my favourite food when i was a child. since i grew up i didn
    t eat it that often. i miss its taste.
    thank you for sharing la
    glad you ve made a big big progress in english….how i wish my german could…….sigh……

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar